Communist Party of India (Marxist): History, Latest News

About Communist Party of India (Marxist):

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) (abbreviated CPI(M)) is a communist political party in India that adheres to Marxist–Leninist philosophy.

It is one of the national parties of India. The party emerged from a split from the Communist Party of India in 1964 due largely to the continued adherence of the CPI to the USSR and the adherence of the dissidents who formed the CPI(M) to the People's Republic of China.

Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Communist Party of India (Marxist) - Logo

The CPI(M) was formed at the Seventh Congress of the Communist Party of India held in Calcutta from 31 October to 7 November 1964.

As of 2018, CPI(M) is leading the state government in Kerala and has representation in the following Legislative assemblies in the states of Kerala, West Bengal, Tripura, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Odisha and Maharashtra. As of 2018, CPI(M) claimed to have 1 million members.

The Politburo is the supreme organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist). However, in between two party congresses, the Central Committee is the highest decision making body.



Key Description Communist Party of India (Marxist):

Abbreviation: CPI(M)

General Secretary: Sitaram Yechury

Lok Sabha Leader: A. M. Ariff

Rajya Sabha Leader: Vacant


  • P. Sundarayya
  • E. M. S. Namboodiripad
  • Harkishan Singh Surjeet
  • A. K. Gopalan
  • Promode Dasgupta
  • B. T. Ranadive
  • M. Basavapunnaiah
  • Jyoti Basu
  • P. Ramamurthi

Founded: 7 November 1964 (55 years ago)

Split From: Communist Party of India

Headquarters: A. K. Gopalan Bhawan, 27-29, Bhai Vir Singh Marg, New Delhi-110 001

Student Wing: Students' Federation of India

Youth Wing: Democratic Youth Federation of India

Labour Wing: Centre of Indian Trade Unions

Peasant's Wing: All India Kisan Sabha


  • Communism
  • Marxism–Leninism
  • Anti-capitalism
  • Anti-imperialism

Political Position: Left-wing to far-left

International Affiliation: International Meeting of Communist and Workers' Parties

ECI Status: National Party


  • Democratic Progressive Alliance (Tamil Nadu)
  • Left Front, Tripura (Tripura)
  • Left Front, West Bengal (West Bengal)
  • Left Democratic Front, Kerala (Kerala)
  • Left Democratic Front, Maharashtra (Maharashtra)
  • Left Democratic Manch (Assam)

Seats in Lok Sabha: 3 / 543

Seats in Rajya Sabha: 5 / 245

Seats in State Legislative Assemblies: 99 / 4,119

Number of states and union territories in government:
2 / 31


Social Network: FacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube




Communist Party of India(Marxist) emerged from a division within the undivided Communist Party of India (CPI), which was formed on 17 October 1920.

The undivided CPI had experienced a period of upsurge during the years following the Second World War.

The CPI led armed rebellions in Telangana, Tripura, and Kerala. However, it soon abandoned the strategy of armed revolution in favour of working within the parliamentary framework.

In 1950, B. T. Ranadive, the CPI general secretary and a prominent representative of the radical sector inside the party, was demoted on grounds of left-adventurism.

Under the government of the Indian National Congress party of Jawaharlal Nehru, independent India developed close relations and a strategic partnership with the Soviet Union.

The Soviet government consequently wished that the Indian communists moderate their criticism towards the Indian state and assume a supportive role towards the Congress governments.

However, large sections of the CPI claimed that India remained a semi-feudal country, and that class struggle could not be put on the back-burner for the sake of guarding the interests of Soviet trade and foreign policy.

Moreover, the Indian National Congress appeared to be generally hostile towards political competition.

In 1959 the central government intervened to impose President's Rule in Kerala, toppling the E.M.S. Namboodiripad cabinet (the sole non-Congress state government in the country).



Political Ideology And Stances:

The Party Constitution currently in force was adopted at the Eighth Party Congress in December 1968.

Article II of the constitution lays out of the aim of the party:

"Revolutionary vanguard of the working class of India. Its aim is socialism and communism through the establishment of the state of dictatorship of the proletariat.

In all its activities the Party is guided by the philosophy and principles of Marxism–Leninism which shows to the toiling masses the correct way to the ending of exploitation of man by man, their complete emancipation.

The Party keeps high the banner of proletarian internationalism".

ARTICLE XXA of the constitution states that:

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) shall bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India as by law established and to the principles of socialism, secularism and democracy and would uphold the sovereignty, unity and integrity of India.


The party is well known for its anti-globalization and anti-capitalist stance.