List of NITs: NITs Colleges in India: Courses, Fees, Ranking

This article consist the list of NITs in India in till 2020. National Institutes of Technology (NITs) are recognized as one of the best engineering institutes across the country after the IITs. Not only do the NITs receive a special grant from the Government of India, but they are also considered as Institutes of National Importance and are widely acknowledged and sought-after by engineering aspirants of the country.

While elaborating on the list of NITs in India,

Total of 31 NITs in the country

that offer engineering and technology-based courses at undergraduate as well as postgraduate levels like B.Tech, M.Tech, etc..


List of NITs in India in 2020

List of NITs admission process

The NIT admission process is rigorous as it strives to offer seats to candidates who have a good technical aptitude. Screening of candidates for undergraduate programmes is done basis the national level engineering entrance exam - JEE Main every year. Candidates who qualify in JEE Main appear for centralized counselling where they opt for B.Tech specializations and best engineering courses of their choice.

On the other hand, admission to the postgraduate programmes is on the basis of GATE and NIMCET, depending upon the field of specialization one is opting for.


List of NITs: National Institutes of Technology (NITs)


Serial No Name Short Name Founded Established City/Town State/UT
1 NIT Allahabad MNNIT 1961 2001 Prayagraj Uttar Pradesh
2 NIT Bhopal MANIT 1960 2002 Bhopal Madhya Pradesh
3 NIT Calicut NITC 1961 2002 Kozhikode Kerala
4 NIT Durgapur NITDGP 1960 2002 Durgapur West Bengal
5 NIT Hamirpur NITH 1986 2002 Hamirpur Himachal Pradesh
6 NIT Jaipur MNIT 1963 2002 Jaipur Rajasthan
7 NIT Jalandhar NITJ 1987 2002 Jalandhar Punjab
8 NIT Jamshedpur NITJSR 1960 2002 Jamshedpur Jharkhand
9 NIT Kurukshetra NITKKR 1963 2002 Kurukshetra Haryana
10 NIT Nagpur VNIT 1960 2002 Nagpur Maharashtra
11 NIT Rourkela NITR 1961 2002 Rourkela Odisha
12 NIT Silchar NITS 1967 2002 Silchar Assam
13 NIT Karnataka NITK 1960 2002 Suratkhal Karnataka
14 NIT Warangal NITW 1959 2002 Warangal Telangana
15 NIT Srinagar NITSRI 1960 2003 Srinagar Jammu and Kashmir
16 NIT Surat SVNIT 1961 2003 Surat Gujarat
17 NIT Tiruchirappalli NITT 1964 2003 Trichy Tamil Nadu
18 NIT Patna NITP 1886 2004 Patna Bihar
19 NIT Raipur NITRR 1956 2005 Raipur Chhattisgarh
20 NIT Agartala NITA 1965 2006 Agartala Tripura
21 NIT Arunachal Pradesh NITAP 2010 2010 Yupia Arunachal Pradesh
22 NIT Delhi NITD 2010 2010 New Delhi Delhi
23 NIT Goa NITG 2010 2010 Farmagudi Goa
24 NIT Manipur NITMN 2010 2010 Imphal Manipur
25 NIT Meghalaya NITM 2010 2010 Shillong Meghalaya
26 NIT Mizoram NITMZ 2010 2010 Aizawl Mizoram
27 NIT Nagaland NITN 2010 2010 Dimapur Nagaland
28 NIT Puducherry NITPY 2010 2010 Karaikal Puducherry
29 NIT Sikkim NITSKM 2010 2010 Ravangla Sikkim
30 NIT Uttarakhand NITUK 2010 2010 Srinagar, Uttarakhand Uttarakhand
31 NIT Andhra Pradesh NITANP 2015 2015 Tadepalligudem Andhra Pradesh


Follow Us: FacebookTwitterInstagram