MHRD (Ministry of Human Resource Development): News

The Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), formerly Ministry of Education (until 25 September 1985), is responsible for the development of human resources in India.

Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD)

The Ministry is held currently by Ramesh Pokhriyal and is divided into two departments:

  • The Department of School Education and Literacy which deals with primary, secondary and higher secondary education, adult education and literacy
  • The Department of Higher Education, which deals with university education, technical education, scholarship etc.

The erstwhile Ministry of Education now functions under these two departments, as of 26 September 1985.

The current HRD minister is Ramesh Pokhriyal, a member of the Council of Ministers.


Key Description of MHRD:

Jurisdiction India: Republic of India

Headquarters: Shastri Bhawan, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi

Annual Budget: ₹99,312 crore (US$14 billion) (2020-21 est.)

Minister Responsible: Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank', Cabinet Minister

Deputy Minister: responsible Sanjay Shamrao Dhotre, Minister of State

Ministry Executives: R. Subrahmanyam, (IAS Officer), Rina Ray, (IAS Officer)

Child Agencies: Department of School Education and Literacy

Department of Higher Education

Website: Link

Social Network: Facebook, Twitter, YouTube


Department of School Education and Literacy in MHRD

The Department of School Education and Literacy is responsible for development of school education and literacy in the country. It works on "universalisation of education" and for the cultivation of higher standards for citizenship among the youth of India.



Department of Higher Education in MHRD

The Department of Higher Education is in charge of secondary and post-secondary education.

The department is empowered to grant deemed university status to educational institutions on the advice of the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India, under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act, 1956.

The Department of Higher Education takes care of one of the largest higher education systems of the world, just after the United States and China.

The department is engaged in bringing world-class opportunities of higher education and research to the country so that Indian students are not found lacking when facing an international platform.

For this, the government has launched joint ventures and signed MoUs to help the Indian student benefit from the world opinion. The technical education system in the country can be broadly classified into three categories

The 122 Centrally funded institution of technical and science education are as under: List of CFTIs (Centrally Funded Technical Institutions): IIITs (5 – Allahabad, Gwalior, Jabalpur,Kurnool, Kancheepuram), IITs (23), IIMs (20), IISc, IISER (5), NITs (31), NITTTRs (4), and 9 others (SPA, ISMU, NERIST, SLIET, IIEST, NITIE & NIFFT, CIT)


Organisational Structure:

The department is divided into eight bureaus, and most of the work of the department is handled through over 100 autonomous organisations under these bureaus.

  • University and Higher Education; Minorities Education
  • University Grants Commission (UGC)
  • Education Research and Development Organisation (ERDO)
  • Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR)
  • Indian Council of Historical Research (ICHR)
  • Indian Council of Philosophical Research (ICPR)
  • 46 Central Universities as on 11.09.2015, list issued by University Grants Commission
  • Indian Institute of Advanced Studies (IIAS), Shimla


Technical Education:

  • All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE)
  • Council of Architecture (COA)
  • 5 Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) (Allahabad, Gwalior,
  • Jabalpur, Kancheepuram and Kurnool )
  • 3 School of Planning and Architecture (SPAs)
  • 23 Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs)
  • 7 Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs)
  • 20 Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs)
  • 31 National Institutes of Technology (NITs)
  • Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur (IIEST)
  • Sant Longowal Institute of Engineering and Technology
  • North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology (NERIST)
  • National Institute of Industrial Engineering (NITIE)
  • 4 National Institutes of Technical Teachers' Training & Research (NITTTRs) (Bhopal, Chandigarh, Chennai and Kolkata)
  • Ghani Khan Choudhury Institute of Engineering & Technology (GKCIET)
  • 4 Regional Boards of Apprenticeship / Practical Training


Administration and Languages:

  • Three Deemed Universities in the field of Sanskrit, viz.
  • Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan (RSkS) in New Delhi,
  • Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth (SLBSRSV) New Delhi,
  • Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth (RSV) Tirupati
  • Kendriya Hindi Sansthan (KHS), Agra
  • English and Foreign Language University (EFLU), Hyderabad
  • National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language (NCPUL)
  • National Council for Promotion of Sindhi Language (NCPSL)
  • Three subordinate offices: Central Hindi Directorate (CHD), New Delhi;
  • Commission for Scientific & Technological Terminology (CSTT), New Delhi; and Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL), Mysore


Distance Education and Scholarships

  • Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU)

UNESCO, International Cooperation, Book Promotion and Copyrights,

Education Policy, Planning and Monitoring

Integrated Finance Division.

Statistics, Annual Plan and CMIS

Administrative Reform, North Eastern Region, SC/ST/OBC



  • National University of Educational Planning and Administration (NUEPA)
  • National Book Trust (NBT)
  • National Board of Accreditation (NBA)
  • National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions (NCMEI)
  • National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT)
  • National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE)
  • Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE)
  • Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS)
  • Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti (NVS)
  • National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS)
  • Central Tibetan Administration (CTA)
  • National Foundation for Teachers' Welfare a public sector enterprise,
  • Educational Consultants (India) Limited (EdCIL)
  • Central Tibetan Administration,(Bureau of HH the Dalai Lama),(Lajpat nagar),Delhi
  • National Open School Institute (NosI)
  • National Backward Krishi Vidyapeeth Solapur in India (Nbk)
  • Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JOSAA)



The main objectives of the Ministry are:

  • Formulating the National Policy on Education and to ensure that it is implemented in letter and spirit
  • Planned development, including expanding access and improving quality of the educational institutions throughout the country, including in regions where people do not have easy access to education.
  • Paying special attention to disadvantaged groups like the poor, females and the minorities
  • Provide financial help in the form of scholarships, loan subsidy, etc. to deserving students from deprived sections of the society.
  • Encouraging international cooperation in the field of education, including working closely with the UNESCO and foreign governments as well as Universities, to enhance the educational opportunities in the country.


National Institutional Ranking Framework

In April 2016, Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) published the first list of rankings of Indian colleges under National Institutional Ranking Framework.

The entire ranking exercise involved NBA, All India Council for Technical Education, UGC, Thomson Reuters, Elsevier and INFLIBNET (Information & Library Network) centre.

The ranking framework was launched in September 2015. All 122 centrally-funded institutions – including all central universities, IITs and IIMs – participated in the first round of ranking.