NIT Durgapur: National Institute of Technology, Durgapur

The National Institute of Technology Durgapur (abbreviated NIT Durgapur or NIT DGP) is a public technical university located in Durgapur, West Bengal, India, was formerly known as the Regional Engineering College, Durgapur (REC Durgapur).

An Institute of National Importance under Government of India, Ministry of Human Resource Development.

NIT Durgapur


Key Description of National Institute of Technology Durgapur:

Former Names: Regional Engineering College Durgapur (1960-2003)

Motto: उद्योग पुरूषस्य लक्षणम् (Sanskrit)

Motto in English: Work Maketh a Man

Type: Public Technical University

Established: 1960; 60 years ago

Chairman: A. B. Bhattacharya

Director: Anupam Basu

Academic Staff: 224

Students: 4,265

Undergraduates: 2,897

Postgraduates: 721

Doctoral Students: 647

Location: Durgapur, West Bengal, India

Acronym: NITDGP



History of NIT Durgapur

In order to serve the growing demand for trained technical manpower, the Government of India started 14 RECs between 1959 and 1965 (NITs located at Allahabad, Bhopal, Calicut, Durgapur, Jamshedpur, Jaipur, Kurukshetra, Nagpur, Rourkela, Srinagar, Surathkal, Surat, Tiruchirappalli, and Warangal).

The National Institute of Technology, Durgapur (formerly Regional Engineering College, Durgapur) was established in 1960 under an Act of the Parliament of India as one of the eight such colleges, as a co-operative venture between the Government of India and the Government of West Bengal aimed to function as a pace setter for engineering education in the country and to foster national integration. It is a fully funded Technological Institution of the Government of India and is administered by an autonomous Board of Governors. The college was given autonomy in financial and administrative matters to achieve rapid development.

In 1998, a review committee "High Powered Review Committee (HPRC)" was set up by the Union Government for review of RECs. The HPRC, under the chairmanship of R.A. Mashelkar, submitted its report entitled "Strategic Road Map for Academic Excellence of Future RECs" in 1998. Following the recommendations of HPRC, in 2002, the Union Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India upgraded all the 17 Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs) to National Institutes of Technology (NITs). In July 2003, the college was granted Deemed University status with the approval of the UGC/AICTE and was renamed National Institute of Technology, Durgapur.


Departments of NIT Durgapur

National Institute of Technology, Durgapur has the following departments:

  • Biotechnology
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Applications
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Earth and Environmental Studies
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics and Communication Engineering
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Management Studies
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • Physics


Library of National Institute of Technology Durgapur

The library is an institutional member of DELNET (Developing Library Network), American Center Library, Kolkata, National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning (NPTEL), and Current Science Association, Bangalore. It is also a beneficiary Member of INDEST-AICTE (Indian National Digital Library in Engineering, Science & Technology) Consortium, which provides Desktop Access to high quality e-resources (online journals) like IEL Online (IEEE/IEE Electronic Library), Springer Verlag's Link, Proquest, ACM journals, ASCE, ASME, Nature Magazine, Indian Standards (Intranet version) and ASTM journals & Standards etc. It has a collection of several thousand E-Books on computer science (published by Springer).


Ranking of NIT Durgapur

NIT Durgapur was ranked 47th among engineering colleges in India by the National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) in 2020 and 96th overall.


Notable Alumni

  • Aloke Paul, recipient of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology
  • Bikramjit Basu, recipient of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology
  • Kamanio Chattopadhyay, recipient of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology