NDA (National Democratic Alliance):List of Party, History

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is an alliance of center-right and right wing political parties in India. It is led by the BJP.

National Democratic Alliance (NDA)

Its chairman was late Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. Also representing the alliance are L. K. Advani, former Deputy Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, current Prime Minister and the Leader of the House in Lok Sabha; and Thawar Chand Gehlot, Leader of the House in Rajya Sabha and Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment and Amit Shah is the current chairman of the alliance.

The coalition ruled from 1998 to 2004. The alliance returned to power in the 2014 General Elections with a combined vote share of 38.5%.

Its leader, Modi, was sworn in as Prime Minister of India on 26 May 2014. In the 2019 general election, the Alliance further increased its tally to 353 seats with combined vote share of 45.43%.


Key Description of NDA:

Abbreviation: NDA

Founded: May 1998

Chairperson: Amit Shah

Lok Sabha Leader: Narendra Modi (Prime Minister)

Rajya Sabha Leader: Thawar Chand Gehlot (Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment)

Founder: Lal Krishna Advani and Atal Bihari Vajpayee (Bharatiya Janata Party)

Political Position: Centre-right to right-wing

Alliance: 17 Parties

Seats in Lok Sabha: 335 / 543

Seats in Rajya Sabha: 104 / 245

Seats in State Legislative Assemblies: Indian States

Number of states and union territories in government:18 / 31


History of NDA:

The NDA was formed in May 1998 as a coalition to contest the general elections. It was led by the BJP, and included several regional parties, including the Samta Party and the AIADMK, as well as Shiv Sena, the only member which shared the Hindutva ideology of the BJP.

With outside support provided by the TDP, the NDA was able to muster a slim majority in the elections of 1998, and Atal Bihari Vajpayee returned as prime minister.

The government collapsed within a year because the (AIADMK) withdrew its support. After the entry of a few more regional parties, the NDA proceeded to win the 1999 elections with a larger majority. Vajpayee became Prime Minister for a third time, this time for a full five-year term.

The NDA called elections in early 2004, six months ahead of schedule. Its campaign was based around the slogan of "India Shining" which attempted to depict the NDA government as responsible for a rapid economic transformation of the country.

However, the NDA suffered a defeat, winning only a 186 seats in the Lok Sabha, compared to the 222 of the United Progressive Alliance led by the Congress, with Manmohan Singh succeeding Vajpayee as prime minister. Commentators have stated that the NDA's failure to reach out to the rural masses was the explanation for its defeat.


Structure: The National Democratic Alliance does not have a formal governing structure in place, such as an executive board or politburo. It has been up to the leaders of the individual parties to make decisions on issues such as sharing of seats in elections, allocation of ministries and the issues that are raised in Parliament.

Given the varied ideologies among the parties, there have been many cases of disagreement and split voting among the allies.

Owing to ill health, George Fernandes, who was the NDA convener until 2008, was discharged of his responsibility and replaced by Sharad Yadav, the then national president of the JD(U) political party.

On 16 June 2013, the JD(U) left the coalition and Sharad Yadav resigned from the role of the NDA convener.

Then the CM of Andhra Pradesh Chandrababu Naidu was made the NDA convener. On 27 July 2017 JD(U) with the help of BJP formed the government in Bihar.

Later, on 19 August 2017 JD(U) formally rejoined the NDA after 4 years.



Present Members and Seats in Parliament:


Party MPs in Lok Sabha MPs in Rajya Sasha Party Status
1 Bharatiya Janata Party 303 75 National Party
2 All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 1 9 Tamil Nadu
3 Janata Dal (United) 15 5 Bihar
4 Shiromani Akali Dal 2 3 Punjab
5 Republican Party of India (A) - 1 Maharashtra
6 Lok Janshakti Party 6 1 Bihar
7 Asom Gana Parishad - 1 Assam
8 Apna Dal (Sonelal) 2 - Uttar Pradesh
9 Bodoland People's Front - 1 Assam
10 National People's Party 1 1 Meghalaya
11 Pattali Makkal Katchi - 1 Tamil Nadu
12 Tamil Maanila Congress - 1 Tamil Nadu
13 Rashtriya Loktantrik Party 1 - Rajasthan
14 All Jharkhand Students Union 1 - Jharkhand
15 Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 1 - Nagaland
16 Mizo National Front 1 1 Mizoram
17 Sikkim Krantikari Morcha 1 - Sikkim
18 Independent 2 2 None
19 Nominated - 4 None
Total 335 104 India