CNSA: China National Space Administration, Spacecraft

China National Space Administration (CNSA) is the national space agency of China. It is responsible for the national space program and for planning and development of space activities.

China Space Agencies
CNSA - Logo

CNSA and China Aerospace Corporation (CASC) assumed the authority[when?] over space development efforts previously held by the Ministry of Aerospace Industry.

It is a subordinate agency of the State Administration for Science, Technology and Industry for National Defence (SASTIND), itself a subordinate agency of the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT).


Key Description:

Budget: ~ US$ 11 Billion (2018 est.)

Founded: 22 April 1993

Headquarters: Haidian District, Beijing, China

Administrator: Zhang Kejian

Parent Organisation: Ministry of Industry and Information Technology

Abbreviation: CNSA

Official Website



CNSA is an agency created in 1993 when the Ministry of Aerospace Industry was split into CNSA and the China Aerospace Corporation (CASC).

The former was to be responsible for policy, while the latter was to be responsible for execution. This arrangement proved somewhat unsatisfactory, as these two agencies were, in effect, one large agency, sharing both personnel and management.

As part of a massive restructuring in 1998, CASC was split into a number of smaller state-owned companies. The intention appeared to have been to create a system similar to that characteristic of Western defense procurement in which entities which are government agencies, setting operational policy, would then contract out their operational requirements to entities which were government-owned, but not government-managed.



CNSA was established as a government institution to develop and fulfill China's due international obligations, with the approval by the 8th National People's Congress of China (NPC).

The Ninth NPC assigned CNSA as an internal structure of the Commission of Science, Technology and Industry for National Defense (COSTIND). CNSA assumes the following main responsibilities: signing governmental agreements in the space area on behalf of organizations, inter-governmental scientific and technical exchanges; and also being in charge of the enforcement of national space policies and managing the national space science, technology and industry.

Up to now, China has signed governmental space cooperation agreements with Brazil, Chile, France, Germany, India, Italy, Pakistan, Russia, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, the United States, and some other countries. Significant achievements have been scored in the bilateral and multilateral and technology exchanges and cooperation.

Administrators of CNSA are appointed by the State Council.


List of Chinese Astronauts:

As of 2013, eleven Chinese people have traveled to space (alphabetical order):

  • Fei Junlong
  • Jing Haipeng
  • Liu Boming
  • Liu Wang
  • Liu Yang
  • Nie Haisheng
  • Yang Liwei
  • Zhai Zhigang
  • Wang Yaping
  • Zhang Xiaoguang
  • Chen Dong









Follow Us: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram